Committee details

Fire Authority

Purpose of committee

The Fire Authority comprises 18 Members (12 from East Sussex County Council and 6 from Brighton & Hove City Council).


The Fire Authority meets four times a year and meetings are open to the public unless exempt or confidential information is being considered.


The functions of the Fire Authority are set out in the Fire & Rescue Services Act 2004, which defines the core functions of making provision for fire-safety, fire-fighting and rescues from road traffic accidents.


Contact information

Support officer: Abigail Blanshard.

Postal address:
Democratic Services
East Sussex Fire & Rescue Service HQ
Church Lane

Phone: 01323 462069